Zheng Andong: Understanding Individual Identity and Emotion from the History of Immigration

2021.10.23

For some photographers who have studied abroad, globalization, cultural integration, using photography to establish their own identity in an international context and exploring the topics they are concerned about in a foreign country is the original concept and a persistent theme in their creation.

Zheng Andong travelled to the United States and created a series of works called A Chinese Question, centered around the construction of a railway in the Western US during the 19th century and the first half of the 20th century. Zheng Andong explored how many Chinese people helped construct that railway, yet there was no photographic record of this. So how do we confront the absence of Chinese people in the history of photographic narratives and international society during the 19th century?

On October 23rd, SCoP Photo Club invited photographer Zheng Andong to explore the issue of self-identity mentioned in his series of works and his experiences when creating with a cross-cultural background.

郑安东:
从移民史的角度理
解个体身份与情感

2021. 10. 23

对一些留学的摄影师来说,在全球化和文化融合背景下,如何用摄影在国际化的语境里边去确立自己的身份以及探索自己在异国他乡所关注的话题,是创作的初衷以及长久的主题。

 

旅美摄影师郑安东的一个系列作品,叫做 A Chinese Question,这个系列作品的创作背景是关于19世纪至20世纪上半叶的华人问题,这个系列作品拍摄于美国西部铁路修建的场合,探索了一些曾经在这里工作过的中国人,但是在图像史中这些事件和问题并没有被记录下来。所以由此我们在思考,该如何去面对19世纪华人在国际社会上摄影叙事历史上的这样一种缺席呢?

 

10月23日,SCoP Photo Club活动邀请到了摄影师郑安东,来分享他创作的系列作品中提及的自我身份议题;以及在跨文化背景下进行创作的一些经历与体会。