The Space Between Us: Alec Soth

2020.08.01 - 11.20

 
07312020_DTacon_SCoP_Alec_Soth-34.jpg

Get Ticket

scan the QR code with WeChat

to get ticket

Exhibition Duration

August 1 to November 20, 2020

Time

Tuesday-Sunday, 10:30-17:30

(last entry 17:00)

Ticket

Full Price: ¥40 / Student Price: ¥30

Information

 

Introduction

Shanghai Center of Photography (SCoP) is honored to present Amercian photographer Alec Soth’s first solo exhibition “The Space Between Us” in China. Alec Soth is described by Mick Brown of Britain’s Telegraph newspaper as “one of greatest living photographers of America’s social and geographical landscape”. Since his debut series "Sleeping by the Mississippi" 2004, created an immediate stir the same year of its release at the Whitney Biennial, Soth’s works have been presented in museums and galleries around the world. Soth was invited to join Magnum Photos in 2006, and through his own imprint Little Brown Mushroom, as well as in collaboration with others, has published over 25 photo books to date.

A unique aspect of Soth's work lies in his exploration of how to photograph people. Using photography as a medium to record an encounter, Soth pays particular attention to observing ordinary people against the background of the times, particularly the mundane nature of their social life, creating a delicate chemical reaction between himself and the subject. Soth enjoys walking into a person’s life, whether to step into their living space, or shoot some detail of their environment. By using depth of field and focal points to direct the viewers’ attention, at all times, Soth is carefully examining the space between himself and the subject.

                 

Soth uses his process to highlight the importance of digging into life, demonstrating that by capturing intimate scenes photography can express as strong a world view as by photographing grand public events. A patient observer, he spends a lot of time with each of his subjects. The works often present a sense of poetry beyond the still image. An aura of intimacy and solitude is everywhere in Soth's works, and is a unifying feature of his visual language. The nostalgic, melancholy emotions he captures offer a powerful, warm sense of comfort in what has become a time of uncertainty. Soth’s perspective on society and ordinary people, the way he injects this into his photographs, has had a profound impact on an entire generation of young photographers today. By putting himself among the masses, as one of them, everyone can see themselves through Soth’s work.

“The Space Between Us” is not a fully retrospective exhibition, but presents a total of 44 representative works from the major series "Perfect Strangers", "Looking for Love", "Sleeping by the Mississippi", "Niagara", "Broken Manual", "Songbook", and his latest "I Know How Furiously Your Heart Is Beating" The selection allows viewers to follow his emotional and physical journeys, and the creative path he has taken through different periods of his work.

 

 Photographer

Alec Soth (born 1969) lives and works in Minneapolis, Minnesota. He has published over 25 books, including his first critically acclaimed monograph Sleeping by the Mississippi, 2004. This was followed by Niagara (2006), Fashion Magazine (2007), Dog Days, Bogotá (2007), The Last Days of W (2008), Broken Manual (2010), Songbook (2015), Gathered Leaves (2015), and I Know How Furiously Your Heart Is Beating (2019) among others. In 2008 Soth started his own publishing company, Little Brown Mushroom, which is based in Minnesota.

    His work has been the subject of solo exhibitions at international museums including the Deichtorhallen Internationale Kunst und Fotografie, Hamburg; the National Media Museum, Bradford, UK; The Finnish Museum, Helsinki; the Detroit Institute of Arts, Michigan; El Museo de Bogotá, Colombia; the Fotomuseum Winterthur, Switzerland; the Jeu de Paume, Paris; and the Walker Art Center, Minneapolis. 

    His work is in the permanent collections of institutions including the Brooklyn Museum of Art; the Los Angeles County Museum of Art; the Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago; the Museum of Fine Arts, Houston; the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art; the Walker Art Center, Minneapolis; and the Whitney Museum of American Art, New York, amongst others.

 

Media

Soth photographs loners and dreamers and has made a photographic career out of finding chemistry with strangers.

--- New York Times art critic Hilarie M. Sheets

 

His work focuses on off-beat, hauntingly banal images of modern America.

--- Guardian art critic Hannah Booth

 

Soth is the greatest living photographer of America’s social and geographical landscape.

--- Telegraph writer Mick Brown

Contact Us

E:info@scop-sh.com

T:+86 (0)21 64289516

Address: 2555-1 Long Teng Avenue, Xuhui District, Shanghai

Open Hours

Tuesday to Sunday
10:30-17:30 (Last Entry 17:00)
Closed on Monday

  • 微博
  • 微信
  • 社交网络-ins-04
  • 豆瓣

我与你:埃里克·索斯

2020.08.01 - 11.20

 
07312020_DTacon_SCoP_Alec_Soth-34.jpg

​购票方式

微信扫描小程序二维码

进入展览页进行购票

​↓

展览日期

2020年8月1日-11月20日

开放时间

周二-周日,10:30-17:30

(最后入场17:00)

票价

全价¥40/学生价¥30

展讯

 

展览简介

上海摄影艺术中心 (SCôP) 荣幸呈现:美国摄影艺术家埃里克·索斯(Alec Soth)首次中国个展——《我与你:埃里克·索斯》。他被《英国每日电讯》作家米克·布朗(Mick Brown)誉为描绘美国当代社会和地理图景最伟大的在世摄影师之一。2004年凭借处女作《眠于密西西比河畔》在纽约惠特尼双年展一炮而红,迅速受到世界各大艺术机构青睐。2006年成为玛格南图片社成员,迄今已经出版了超过25本著作。

埃里克·索斯的独到之处在于他用摄影对“人”本身的探索。在运用摄影的社会记录功能之外,索斯从平凡的社会光景中观察大时代里的小人物,通过镜头与被拍摄者产生了微妙的化学反应。他喜欢走进人们的生活,无论是步入居住空间内部,或是拍摄袒露在镜头前的与被拍摄者相关的细节,又或是通过相机焦点的移动来控制观者的视觉重心。索斯始终在小心翼翼地探索他与被拍摄者之间的距离和空间关系。

 

索斯用他的作品向人们展示了挖掘生活深度的意义,证明了摄影是可以通过捕捉私密场景,来展现与拍摄宏大公共图像同样强大的世界观。作为一位耐心的观察者,他在创作过程中常常花大量的时间精力与被拍摄者相处,因此他的作品往往能够表现出超越静止画面的,优美的诗歌特质。“亲密与孤寂”在索斯的摄影中随处可见,这样的氛围也成为了他的图像语言特点。他所捕捉和呈现的那些各具缅怀、忧愁甚至敏感的情绪,在充满不确定性的时代背景下,为我们我们带来了一剂强力而温暖的安慰。他对社会及平凡人的观察视角和摄影创作的方式,也对今天诸多年轻摄影师产生了深远的影响。他将自己置身于普罗大众之中,因此我们每个人都能透过他的作品,发现自己生活的影子。

《我与你:埃里克·索斯》不仅仅是他的个人回顾展,而是包含了他对自己、对摄影回溯和思考的一次全新艺术实践。本次展览囊括了他创作生涯中多个主要系列,从《完美陌生人》、《寻找爱》、《眠于密西西比河畔》、《尼亚加拉》、《破碎手册》、《歌本》,到闭关一年之后带来的最新系列《我知道你的心跳有多剧烈》,在他跨越了20多年的摄影生涯中精选了44张具有代表性的作品,借此观众们可以透过索斯不同时期的作品与我们一起见证他心路历程的变化。

埃里克·索斯形容自己是一个内向且害羞的人,而摄影提供了他一个接近陌生人的理由,摄影是他与世界连接的桥梁。索斯的创作历程始于北美内陆,他围绕自己的家乡,拍摄了普通美国人生活中不为人知的一面,在《眠于密西西比河畔》、《破碎手册》和《尼亚加拉》中,关于历史及社会独特的观察使他在西方艺术界获得了巨大的成功。而索斯依靠一个个系列所提出的问题和试图表达的内容,却是跨越时空界限具有普世价值的。上海摄影艺术中心 (SCôP)的最新展览《我与你:埃里克·索斯》也试图以此,鼓励中国年轻摄影师重新关注和审视我们的现实生活,邀请大众与埃里克·索斯一起,在本次展览中寻找我们平凡生活里容易受忽略却值得被记录的痕迹。

 

​关于摄影师

埃里克·索斯(Alec Soth)生于1969年,工作生活于美国明尼苏达州明尼阿波利斯。他迄今出版了超过25本摄影书。2004年出版的第一本著作《眠于密西西比河畔》(Sleeping by the Mississippi)广受赞誉,他继而创作了《尼亚加拉》Niagara, 2006),《时尚杂志》(Fashion Magazine, 2007),《狗日子,波哥大》(Dog Days, Bogotá, 2007),《W的最后时日》(The Last Days of W, 2008),《破碎手册》(Broken Manual, 2010),《歌本》(Songbook, 2015),《树叶堆》(Gathered Leaves, 2015),《我知道你的心跳有多剧烈》(I Know How Furiously Your Heart Is Beating, 2019)。2008年,索斯在明尼苏达州创办了个人出版社小棕菇(Little Brown Mushroom)。

他曾在国际各大博物馆举办个人展览,包括德国汉堡堤坝门大厅、英国布拉德福德国家媒体博物馆、赫尔辛基芬兰博物馆、美国密歇根州底特律艺术馆、哥伦比亚波哥大美术馆、瑞士温特图尔摄影博物馆、巴黎网球场现代美术馆和明尼阿波利斯沃克艺术中心。同时他的作品被各大博物馆和艺术机构的永久馆藏,包括布鲁克林博物馆、洛杉矶郡艺术博物馆、芝加哥当代艺术博物馆、休斯顿美术馆、旧金山现代艺术博物馆、明尼阿波利斯沃克艺术中心和纽约惠特尼美国艺术博物馆等。

 

国际媒体的评价

描绘美国当代社会和地理图景最伟大的在世摄影师之一。

 ——《英国每日电讯》作家Mick Brown

 

他拍摄孤独者和那些做白日梦的人,他的摄影生涯致力于寻找与陌生人之间的化学反应。

——《纽约时报》艺术评论家Hilarie M. Sheets

 

他的作品倾向聚焦于“现代美国不合节奏、令人不安的平庸形象”。

——英国《卫报》艺术评论家Hannah Booth

​联系我们

邮箱:info@scop-sh.com

电话:+86 (0)21 64289516

地址:上海市徐汇区龙腾大道2555号-1

开放时间

开放时间
周二至周日 10:30-17:30 (最后入场17:00)
每周一闭馆

  • 微博
  • 微信
  • 社交网络-ins-04
  • 豆瓣