Valery Katsuba: Russian Romantic Realism

2021.06.12 - 2021.08.29

Get Ticket

scan the QR code with WeChat

to get ticket

mmexport1621471039480.jpg
20190817_SCoP Interior_Atrium_04©️Shen Z

Information

Exhibition Duration

June 12, 2021 to

August 29, 2021

Time

Tuesday-Sunday, 10:30-17:30

(last entry 17:00)

Ticket

Full Price: ¥40 / Student Price: ¥30

Introduction

“Valery Katsuba: Russian Romantic Realism” selects 38 masterpieces in the creative career of Belarus-born photographer Valery Katsuba, covering more than 10 major series of his works. Katsuba’s works combine Russian-style aesthetics with Western visual culture, a combination of romance and realism. This is the first time in China that audiences will have a chance to enjoy Katsuba’s elegant exploration of the human body and human relations through photography.

Personal Epic in Tides of Time

Valery Katsuba was born in the Republic of Belarus in the Soviet Union. He stands on the foundation of rich creative expression in Russian art history, and pays his own homage to the grand tradition of Russian literature. Katsuba’s works are much inspired by personal experience, the times, and the changing aesthetics of body forms through history. Through the powerful lines of these elegant bodies, his photos speak out the desire for perfection, as well as the yearning for brilliance, beauty and purity that peoples share in common. In a narrative visual language and with his romantic idealism, he has produced a number of “visual novels” in the medium of photography, as if he was writing personal epics in the tides of time.

 

In his Air Flight (2010-2011), his heroes hang in the air, making posture as arabesque with elegant bodies’ curves; The sculptural bodies in Phiscultura (1998-2008) and The Model: Classic and Contemporary (2008-2019), inheriting the aesthetic traditions of ancient Greece and Rome, are placed in magnificent spaces like grand stairs, palaces, art academies and museums. The tension between perfection and power that reverberates across the picture is amazing and fascinating. while the underlying subtle and opaque metaphors are waiting for viewers to penetrate.

Seeking for Romance in Introspection

Looking at the portraits by Katsuba, we are awed by their charm. The figures in the portraits aspire to be heroes of their time, as indeed some of them are in real life. In his Russian Olympic Project for the Winter Games in Turin (2006), Katsuba takes as models Olympic sportsmen and women, photographed in the rural towns or villages that are their native places. In these precious personal moments of return to their family origins, we see their souls, as well as the dichotomy between their achievements and fragility; Far Away from Home (2004-2014) tells a sailor’s story about love, loss, and the search for new love, where a man escaping from himself eventually begins to turn into a road to himself, a road to home; When turning to Morning (2011-2014), we feel a certain expectation but also the familiar uncertainty that we feel when we embrace a new day or the birth of new things. In either case, nothing obliterates the desire for life.

 

Even though it is obvious from motifs in Katsuba’s works, like the staged settings, figure's expressions, postures, and the calculated ornaments that this world is unmistakably Russian, the indelible seam of romance - is the one all nationalities share in common, no matter who we are or where we are from. Just as the delicate question posited in all great Russian literature - human emotion is the very core of our existence. At this moment in the grand river of time, seen through the prism of dramatic changes in social economy and culture, the posturing of the figures in his photographs, their often introspective gaze, seem to point as much forward to the self-reliance upon which we will necessarily depend as they direct our gaze back to the past. Through Katsuba’s works, this exhibition tries to encourage viewers to pay attention to the personal life and to find their own romance in reality.

Quotes

‘Valery Katsuba is a master of aesthetics, and he describes the human body with the precision and elegance of Praxiteles; but within each of those beautiful bodies, he finds a beating heart.’

——Andrew Solomon, writer, psychologists

 

‘Russian culture is literary; the Western one seen as visual. Valery combines both qualities, so his photographic works are necessarily narrative.’

——Anna Shpakova, curator

 

‘There is nothing more attractive than the dream of perfection and truth. When Valery Katsuba’s camera captures ballet dancers and dancers in front of Goya’s paintings or copies of antique sculptures… it connects art and life. No triumph can be higher than the vital aspiration of a strong and at the same time fragile human nature.’

——Antonio Bonet, Correa Spanish art historian

About Artist

Valery Katsuba (1965) is an artist working in the realms of photography, video and performance; he also writes stories. His first exhibition took place in the House of Photography in Moscow in 2000. His work can be found in the collections of the Centre Pompidou (Paris), the Russian Museum (St Petersburg), the Museum of the San Fernando Royal Academy of Fine Arts (Madrid) and others. Katsuba lives and works between St Petersburg, Russia and Madrid, Spain.

About Anna Nova Gallery

Anna Nova Gallery, founded in 2005, is currently one of the leading galleries in Russia. The gallery actively supports original and innovative interdisciplinary art practices, producing research-based projects and large-scale installations. In the past few years the gallery has expanded its activities and now aims to discover and promote young artists who work with urgent cultural issues and challenges that our society faces today.

Sarah Vinitz Foundation

Sarah Vinitz Foundation was established to support the realization of art projects on a global level. The Foundation’s mission is to contribute to a quality archive of human endeavor by forging positive and progressive changes in the global cultural code.

Thanks

SCoP would like to thank the artist for his kind assistance in the preparation of this exhibition. Thanks also go to Anna Nova Gallery for their great assistance in the preparation of the works for this exhibition. Thanks to Sarah Vinitz foundation for their kind support.

Sponsors

We would also like to thank VANKE and Dior for their generous support.

《瓦莱里·卡苏巴:俄罗斯浪漫现实主义》

2021.06.12 - 2021.08.29

​购票方式

微信扫描小程序二维码

进入展览页进行购票

​↓

mmexport1621471039480.jpg
20190817_SCoP Interior_Atrium_04©️Shen Z

展讯

展览日期

2021年6月12日-2021年8月29

开放时间

周二-周日,10:30-17:30

(最后入场17:00)

票价

全价¥40/学生价¥30

展览简介

《瓦莱里·卡苏巴:俄罗斯浪漫现实主义》(Valery Katsuba: Russian Romantic Realism)精选了出生于白俄罗斯的摄影艺术家瓦莱里·卡苏巴(Valery Katsuba)创作生涯中的38幅代表作,涵盖了他的10余个主要系列。卡苏巴将俄罗斯式美学和西方视觉文化兼容并蓄,他的作品同时体现了浪漫的元素和现实主义精神素朴的人间情怀。本次展览也是中国观众首次有机会通过摄影欣赏卡苏巴对人体的优雅探索。

时代裹挟下

的个人史诗

瓦莱里·卡苏巴出生于苏联时期的白俄罗斯共和国,他站在俄罗斯艺术史丰富的创意表达基石之上,并向俄罗斯伟大的文学传统致敬。卡苏巴从自身的成长经历、时代和历史不断变化的审美表现形式中汲取了大量灵感。他通过优雅的身躯和充满力量的饱满线条,展示了人类内心对完美的渴望,对光明、美丽和纯粹的向往。他以叙事性的视觉语言和浪漫的理想主义情怀,用相机创作出一篇篇“视觉小说”,仿佛抒写着时代滚滚红尘裹挟下的个人史诗。 他镜头下的主角们,在《空中飞行系列》(Air Flight Series, 2010-2011)中以优雅的曲线悬在半空做出迎风展翅的姿态;继承自古希腊和罗马的美学传统,如同雕塑般的身体在《形体文化》(Phiscultura, 1998-2008)和《模特:经典和当代》(The Model: Classic and Contemporary, 2008-2019)系列中,被置入宏伟的楼梯、宫殿、艺术学院和博物馆这样的华丽空间中,回荡在照片表面的完美与权利之间的张力令人为之惊叹着迷。而画面中微妙晦涩的隐喻,则等待着观者用各自的想象力去洞见。

在内省中

找寻浪漫

仔细观察卡苏巴刻画的这些肖像,我们会愈发被其中的魅力所折服,因为他们渴望成为那个时代值得尊敬的英雄,他们设法做到了这一点并经受住了时间的考验。在《都灵冬奥会——俄罗斯奥林匹克项目》(Russian Olympic Project for the Winter Games in Turin, 2006)中,卡苏巴将奥运会运动员们作为模特,在他们家乡的小镇或村庄进行拍摄。在这些短暂回归家庭的宝贵个人时光中,我们看到了体育英雄们伟大与脆弱并存的血肉丰满的灵魂;《远离家乡》(Far Away from Home, 2004-2014)中,主人公水手上演了一出基于爱、失去和重新寻找的故事。逃离“自我”的旅程最终变成一条通往自己的路,一条通往家的路;在《清晨》(Morning, 2011-2014)中,面对新一天的来临,新事物即将诞生,我们期待、向往,但也对前方的未知略有踌躇。但无论如何,也无法磨灭对生活的渴望。

 

卡苏巴作品中舞台化的布景,人物的表情,动作以及经过精心设计的装饰物可以明显看出俄罗斯的美学特征。但其不可磨灭的浪漫气息是所有民族的共同点——无关我们是谁我们来自哪里,正如同所有伟大的俄罗斯文学中昭示的那样,情感是人类存在的核心。在社会经济和文化剧烈变化的风口浪尖下,透过这样的时代棱镜来观看瓦莱里·卡苏巴的作品,他照片中人物的姿态,通常呈现内省的凝视,仿佛在告诉我们需要像期待依靠自我那样回望过去。本次展览试图通过卡苏巴作品,鼓励观者与我们一起重新关注个人生活,在现实中找寻属于自己的浪漫。

引述

瓦莱里·卡苏巴是美学大师,他如普拉克西特利斯那样精确优雅地描绘人体;而在每一具美丽的身体中,他都发现了一颗跳动的心。

——安德鲁·所罗门(Andrew Solomon)美国心理学家、作家

 

俄罗斯文化被认为是具有文学性的,而西方文化则被视做视觉文化。瓦莱里将两者的特质相融合,因此他的摄影作品必然充满着叙事性。

——安娜·什帕科娃(Anna Shpakova)策展人

 

没有什么比追求完美和真理更具吸引力了。当瓦莱里·卡苏巴的相机在戈雅的画作或仿古雕塑前捕捉芭蕾舞演员和舞者时,艺术与生活联系在了一起。任何成就都无法与坚强而又脆弱的人性中饱含的生命渴望相比拟。

——安东尼奥·博内特·科雷亚(Antonio Bonet Correa)西班牙艺术史学家

关于艺术家

瓦莱里·卡苏巴(Valery Katsuba)1965年出生于前苏联时期的白俄罗斯,现工作生活于俄罗斯圣彼得堡和西班牙马德里。他的艺术创作包括摄影、视频和表演,他同时还从事写作。卡苏巴的第一次个人展览于2000年在莫斯科摄影之家举行。他的作品被蓬皮杜艺术中心(巴黎),俄罗斯博物馆(圣彼得堡),圣费尔南多皇家美术学院美术馆(马德里)等机构收藏。

关于

Anna Nova 画廊

Anna Nova画廊(Anna Nova Gallery)创立于2005年,是目前俄罗斯领先的画廊之一。安娜诺娃画廊积极支持原创和创新跨学科艺术实践,并制作基于研究的项目和大型装置。目标旨在发掘和推广那些以当今社会面临的紧迫文化问题和挑战为创作议题的年轻艺术家。

Sarah Vinitz

基金会

Sarah Vinitz基金会旨在以国际化水平完成艺术项目。基金会的使命是通过在全球文化的准则中循序渐进地引入积极变革,建立一个高质量的人类档案。

特别感谢

感谢俄罗斯安娜诺娃画廊及工作人员为本次展览提供的大力支持以及艺术家在本次展览筹备过程中给予的帮助,同时感谢 Sarah Vinitz 基金会的支持。

赞助

上海摄影艺术中心感谢 VANKE 和 Dior 一直以来对我们的支持。