LOGO-SCoP-01.jpg

Imaging Nature Before and After Photography Zeng Xiaolian Solo Exhibition

2022.03.05 - 2022.05.22

Introduction

“Imaging Nature Between Painting and Photography” features a selection of 40 masterful artworks of Zeng Xiaolian, each depicting the richness of nature and the cycle of botanical life. Zeng Xiaolian is one of China’s leading botanical illustrators, and still holds the title of Senior Engineer of the Botanical Research Institute of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, in whose name he devoted his life to paintings of flowers and birds with a rigorous scientific spirit and reverence and passion for life. Since his retirement in 1997, Zeng Xiaolian continues to depict biodiversity in praise of the flourishing beauty of nature.

As Paul Strand is quoted as saying, “Photography is only a new road from a different direction, still moving toward the common goal, which is life”. Since the invention of photography in 1839, photography and painting have developed with a significant degree of mutual influence. The style and form of early photography were influenced by compositional formats and human expressions found in painting. While photography also had an impact on the artistic concept of painting and the change of its form, modern artists even directly introduced photography into painting.

Prior to the invention of photography, botanical illustrators recorded shapes and habitats of plants according to their observations and notes as part of the increasing interest in understanding, appreciating and, even, controlling nature. Through time, with developments in technology, other imaging technologies such as microscopy and X-ray found applications in the field of wildlife research. Increasingly photography could provide important reference materials for botanical illustrators, but could the photograph replace the patiently crafted painting? Naturally this is a question for lively debate, since we now know of numerous examples of fine photographers who have made extraordinary studies of plants and animals as subjects of their work.

Zeng Xiaolian remains committed to his craft of painting studies of flowers and birds through painstaking observation and creative rendering. When he joined Kunming Institute of Botany under the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 1958 and began his 40-year work as a botanical illustrator, Zeng Xiaolian first studied scientific painting methods, but over time would create his astonishing botanical illustrations based on his observation. Since retirement, his technique has become arguably ever more innovative. Remarkable examples can be found from the veins of the flowers’ petals and leaves to the texture of a bird’s feathers.

The exhibition presents Zeng Xiaolian’s flower and bird paintings alongside examples of photographs and artworks by domestic and foreign artists such as Nobuyoshi Araki, Liu Ye, and Giovanni Ozzola. Viewers may perceive nature through photography and painting and broaden their horizons while understanding the harmonious coexistence between humans and nature.

Artist’s word

“A stubborn boy who likes to draw, comes to painting by chance. From humble beginnings pressing leaves, he slowly enters the field of botanical illustration. It’s not essential work, but it is all the sustenance he needs. I sit on cold benches, trek deep into the mountains. At times, my heart swoops in awe at the beauty of the wild in the deep mountains and ancient forests. At others, I sit like a wooden chicken watching flowers blossom and fall, cherishing what feels like the true meaning of life. Between movement and stillness lies a fertile ground for inspiration. I compensate for my clumsy hand with its diligent practice. Flowers, birds and other natural elements flow from my brush, coaxing themselves into a semblance of life that leaves some small impression on the viewer. This is what I love to do, that’s all.”

 

Zeng Xiaolian

About the Artist

Chinese botanical artist, Zeng Xiaolian was born in 1939 in Kunming, Yunnan Province. In 1958, upon graduation from high school, Zeng was recruited into Kunming Institute of Botany under the Chinese Academy of Sciences, retiring in 1997. During his career, he worked as an illustrator on numerous scientific texts such as Flora of China, Flora of Yunnan and Flora of Tibet. From 1983 to 1988, he served as Deputy Director of the China Botanical Society Council on Botanical Illustration. From 1988 to 1993, he served as director of that council. In 1995, he was named Senior Engineer of the Botanical Research Institute of Chinese Academy of Sciences. He is a member of the China Artists Association. Over the years, Zeng has received numerous awards for his paintings, which have also been widely exhibited and collected. Also, beginning in 1991, Zeng’s works have also been featured in no less than ten series of stamp designs commissioned by China State Post Bureau.

About Contemporary Gallery Kunming

Contemporary Gallery Kunming is a non-profit art institution sponsored by Kunming Top River Group. Since its inception in 2018, CGK has staged numerous important group exhibitions, including “Notes on Region”, “Espace et Temps: Sino-French Architecture Exhibition,” and “Constellation: Yunnan Oil Painting Since 1978,” and solo exhibitions of such artists as Zeng Xiaofeng, Tang Zhigang, Marc Riboud, Zhang Chunyang, Zeng Xiaolian, Ma Yun, Yu Jian, He Duoling, Shui Yanfei, Du Tianrong, Yang Liping, Liu Jianhua, Li Ji, Yao Zhonghua, Wu Jialin and Luo Xu. Contemporary Gallery Kunming is rooted in the history and culture of Yunnan Province, strives to build connections with Southeast Asia, and aims to serve both the local art industry and the general public through objective research of Yunnan’s contemporary art history and comprehensive presentation of the latest trends and creative output in contemporary art.

About HLiiC

Established in Nanjing in 2020, HLiiC is dedicated to the research and practice of 19th century handmade photography process, exploring another possibility of image. Based on modern apparatus and advanced equipment along with a laboratory with constant temperature and humidity, HLiiC Lab provides the public, professionals in photography and related art fields, art organizations and commercial institutions with visualized custom printing services, making the transition from digital images to 19th century handmade photography works. In close collaboration with dozens of international handmade photography artists and several top-notch international 19th century photography galleries, HLiiC is committed to the promotion and research of handmade photography, regularly holding exhibitions regarding handmade photography at HLiiC Gallery, also provides support and curating for external art space or art exhibitions.

Thanks

SCoP would like to thank Zeng Xiaolian and his family, Nie Rongqing, Jeff Crosby and Zhu Zijia from Contemporary Gallery Kunming, staff at National Geographic, and HLiiC for their great assistance in the preparation of this exhibition.

 

We would also like to thank VANKE Shanghai and Dior for their continuous support to SCoP.

LOGO-SCoP-01.jpg

《画与相》
“中国植物画第一人”曾孝濂个展

2022.03.05 - 2022.05.22

展览简介

展览《画与相》精选了艺术家曾孝濂的40幅代表作,他的作品描绘出自然万象与草木荣枯。曾孝濂是我国顶尖的植物科学画家、中科院昆明植物研究所研究员级高级工程师,被誉为“中国植物画第一人”。他毕生致力于花鸟画创作,恪守严谨的科学精神,心怀对生命的敬畏与热爱。1997年退休后,曾孝濂笔耕不辍,用精湛的绘画技法勾勒花鸟草木,讴歌生生不息的自然之美。

正如保罗·斯特兰德(Paul Strand)所言,“摄影只是一条来自不同方向的新道路,通向共同的目标——生活。”自1839年摄影术问世以来,摄影与绘画在很大程度上相互影响。早期摄影风格及类型受到绘画中构图形式和人物表情的影响;摄影则对绘画的艺术观念造成了冲击,促进了后者创作形式的转变,现代主义艺术家更是直接将摄影引入绘画。

在摄影技术还未发明的时代,植物科学画家通过实地观察和文字资料记录植物的外形特点和生存环境,满足了解、欣赏甚至掌控自然的兴趣。随着时间的推移和技术的发展,显微镜、X光等成像技术在野生动植物研究领域得到了应用,摄影也为植物科学画家提供重要参考。但照片真的能取代精心绘制的图画吗?关于这一问题的争论非常激烈,也有许多摄影师以动植物为主题进行创作和研究。

曾孝濂通过潜心观察和创造性描绘不懈地进行花鸟画研究。1958年,曾孝濂进入中科院昆明植物研究所,开始了近40年的植物科学画工作,他先是悉心钻研科学绘画方法,而后又基于细致入微的观察,创作出精妙绝伦的植物科学画作品。退休后,曾孝濂在绘画技艺方面有所创新,从花叶的脉络到羽毛的纹理,他用画笔生动诠释大自然的艺术美感。

本次展览将呈现曾孝濂先生的花鸟画和荒木经惟、刘野、乔瓦尼·欧祖拉(Giovanni Ozzola)等国内外艺术家的作品,邀请观众于绘画和摄影间见花香鸟语,拓展认识自然的角度和视野,获得爱与美的启迪,感悟人与自然相依共存的和谐关系。

艺术家自述

“信手涂鸦一顽童,机缘巧合入画途,以腊叶标本为依据,为植物志画插图。世人多不屑一顾,我偏觉得味道足。既要坐得冷板凳,也要登得大山头。时而心猿意马闯深山老林,领略狂野之壮美;时而呆若木鸡静观花开花落,澄怀味象,感悟生命之真谛。动静之间寻觅灵感之沃土。以勤补拙,死抠硬磨,练就无法之法。凝花鸟树木于笔端,哄慰自己,也给观者留下些许回味。随意而安,尽力而为,平平淡淡,自得其乐。”

——曾孝濂

关于艺术家

曾孝濂,1939年生于云南昆明。1958年高中毕业后进入中国科学院昆明植物研究所,先后为《中国植物志》、《云南植物志》、《西藏植物志》等科学著作绘制插画,直至1997年退休。1983年至1988年,曾孝濂受聘为中国植物学会植物科学画专业委员会副主任。1988年至1993年受聘为该专业委员会主任。1995年受聘为中科院昆明植物研究所研究员级高级工程师,中国美术家协会会员。多年来,曾孝濂屡获殊荣,作品多次被展出和收藏。1991年起,他为国家邮政局设计了十余套邮票。

关于昆明当代
美术馆 (CGK)

昆明当代美术馆(CGK)由昆明冠江集团投资兴办,自2018年开馆以来,相继举办过“地缘笔记”、"连接时间的空间——中法建筑对话展"、“谱系+ ——1978年以来的云南油画”等重要群展;以及一系列个展,包括曾晓峰、唐志冈、马克·吕布、张春旸、曾孝濂、马云、于坚、何多苓、水雁飞、杜天荣、杨丽萍、刘建华、李季、姚钟华、吴家林、罗旭等。昆明当代美术馆立足于云南的历史脉络和地域风情,连接东南亚的地缘关系,通过客观地梳理云南与中国、乃至世界的当代艺术的互动,呈现艺术在地域性和历史性中的思考和实践,成为一座强调文化多样性和城市自然的当代美术馆。

关于HLiiC

2020年成⽴于南京,致⼒于19世纪⼿⼯影像的研究与制作,探索影像的另⼀种可能。依托现代化的仪器与设备及恒温恒湿实验室,HLiiC影像实验室可为⼤众、摄影及相关艺术⾏业从业者、艺术社群与商业机构等提供可视化、个性化的影像定制及输出服务,实现从电⼦照⽚到19世纪⼿⼯影像作品的转换。同时,HLiiC与数⼗位国际⼿⼯影像艺术家、数家国际顶尖19世纪影像画廊密切合作,致⼒于⼿⼯影像在国内的推广与研究。HLiiC Gallery拥有⼤量的19世纪经典⼤师⼿⼯影像原作与资料(例如路易·达盖尔,威廉·塔尔伯特,约翰·赫歇尔爵⼠等),定期于HLiiC画廊内举办⼿⼯影像⼯艺展览,也可为外部艺术空间或艺术展提供 策划与⽀持。

特别感谢

上海摄影艺术中心由衷感谢曾孝濂先生及其家人、昆明当代美术馆的聂荣庆、谢飞(Jeff Crosby)和朱子甲、《国家地理》编辑团队以及HLiiC在本次展览筹备过程中给予的帮助和支持。

 

感谢上海万科和迪奥一直以来对我们的大力支持。